Outdoor burning safety
With warmer weather here many of you are cleaning up your yards.
The Tennessee State Fire Marshal has a warning, be careful when you burn.
Here's what you need to know if you burn outside. Until May 15th, anyone starting an open air fire within 500 feet of a forest, grassland or woodland area must by law secure a burning permit from the Tennessee Department of Agricultures Division of Forestry.
The permits can be obtained by calling your local division of forestry.
Permits are generally good for 24 hours and can be issued for weekend burning.
Copyright © 2014 by WCYB. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.